Richard Barksdale Harwell


The Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award is given annually by the Atlanta Civil War Round Table for the best book on a Civil War subject published in the preceding year.  Consisting of a monetary prize and an engraved plaque, the award honors the late Richard Barksdale Harwell, nationally recognized librarian, bibliographer and historian, as well as the first President of the Atlanta Civil War Round Table. The winning author is invited to appear as a speaker before the Round Table, usually at the November meeting, during which time the award is presented.

Richard Barksdale Harwell

Submission Guidelines for the Richard Barksdale Harwell Award

Recipients of the Richard Barksdale Harwell Award

  1989 William D. Matter If It Takes All Summer
  1990 Christopher Losson Tennessee's Forgotten Warriors
  1991 Robert K. Krick Stonewall Jackson at Cedar Mountain
  1992 Gary Gallagher Struggle for the Shenandoah
  1993 Albert Castel Decision in the West
  1994 Richard Baumgartner & Larry Strayer Echoes of Battle
  1995 William R. Scaife The Campaign for Atlanta
  1996 Emory M. Thomas Robert E. Lee
  1997 William Marvel Andersonville: The Last Depot
  1998 James I. Robertson, Jr. Stonewall Jackson
  1999 J. Tracy Power Lee's Miserables
  2000 Thomas G. Dyer Secret Yankees
  2001 Anne Bailey Chessboard of War
  2002 William C. Davis The Union That Shaped the Confederacy
  2003 Gordon G. Rhea Cold Harbor: Grant and Lee
  2004 Francis A. O'Reilly The Fredericksburg Campaign
  2005 Larry Daniels Days of Glory: Army of the Cumberland
  2006 Tom Carhart Lost Triumph: Lee's Real Plan at Gettysburg and Why It Failed
  2007 Russell S. Bonds Stealing the General
  2008 Elizabeth Brown Pryor Reading the Man:  A Portrait of Robert E. Lee Through His Private Letters
  2009 James M. McPherson Tried By War:  Abraham Lincoln as Commander in Chief
  2010 Earl J. Hess In the Trenches at Petersburg: Field Fortifications and Confederate Defeat
  2011 David A. Powell Failure in the Saddle: Nathan B. Forrest, Joe Wheeler and the Confederate Cavalry in the Chickamauga Campaign.
  2012 Jeffry Wert A Glorious Army: Robert E. Lee’s Triumph 1862-1863
  2013 Brian Steel Wills George Henry Thomas: As True As Steel
  2014 Allen C. Guelzo Gettysburg: The Last Invasion
  2015 Timothy B. Smith Shiloh: Conquer or Perish
  2016 David A. Powell The Chickamauga Campaign - Glory or the Grave
  2017 Earl Hess Braxton Bragg: The Most Hated Man in the Confederacy
  2018 Brian Steel Wills Inglorious Passages: Noncombat Deaths in the American Civil War
  2019 A. Wilson Greene A Campaign of Giants: The Battle for Petersburg - Volume One
  2020 Hampton Newsome The Fight for the Old North State: The Civil War in North Carolina, January- May 1864
  2021 Stephen Davis Into Tennessee and Failure: John Bell Hood
  2022 Caroline Janney Ends of War: The Unfinished Fight of Lee's Army after Appomattox
  2022 Charles Knight From Arlington to Appomattox, Robert E Lee's Civil War
Day by Day: 1861-1865
In 2022 the Round Table for the first time made two presentations of the Harwell Award

Jeffry Wert The Heart of Hell : The Soldiers' Struggle for Spotsylvanias'
Bloody Angle
  2024 Scott Hartwig I Dread the Thought of the Place: The Battle of Antietam and the End of the Maryland Campaign