field, Battle, Cannon, Artillery, Cavalry, Infantry, artifacts


Atlanta Civil War Round Table 2014
Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award

The Atlanta Civil War Round Table has awarded its 26th annual Richard Barksdale Harwell Award to Allen C. Guelzo  for his book Gettysburg: The Last Invasion. The Atlanta Round Table has presented the Harwell Award annually since 1989. The 2014 Harwell Award honors the best book on a civil war topic for books published in 2013.

Dr. Guelzo has authored several articles and books dealing with the Civil War. Allen is a two-time winner of the Lincoln Prize.

Dr. Guelzo's winning effort is a single volume history of the Battle of Gettysburg.  Quoting Newt Gingrich: "Everyone interested in the decisive moment in freedom's struggle should read Guelzo's simply extraordinary effort."

Allen C. Guelzo earned a B.S. in Biblical Studies from Philadelphia Biblical University  He studied at the University of Pennsylvania earning an M.A. and a Ph.D. in history. 

Dr. Guelzo is now employed as the Henry R. Luce Professor of the Civil War Era at Gettysburg College.

The Harwell Award honors the late Richard B. Harwell, a nationally recognized historian, librarian, bibliographer and first president of the Atlanta Roundtable. The award consists of a monetary prize plus an engraved plaque recognizing the event. Previous winners include James McPherson, Earl Hess, Brian Wills and Russell Bonds.

Dr. Guelzo will speak to the Atlanta Round Table during the 2014-15 campaign year.  At that time he will be presented the with the award.

The following were finalists for the 2013 Harwell Award:

Hampton Newsone: Richmond Must Fall
Earl J. Hess: Kennesaw Mountain

Point of Contact for additional information on the Richard B. Harwell Book Award is Gary Barnes,