Atlanta, Civil War, Round Table, History, Civil War Round Table of Atlanta, Battlefield, Battle, Cannon, Artillery, Cavalry, Infantry, artifacts


Atlanta Civil War Round Table 2013
Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award

The Atlanta Civil War Round Table has awarded its 24th annual Richard Barksdale Harwell Award to Brian Steel Wills for his book George Henry Thomas: As True As Steel. The Atlanta Round Table has presented the Harwell Award annually since 1989. The 2013 Harwell Award honors the best book on a civil war topic for books published in 2012.

Dr. Wills has authored several articles and book reviews. Brian's A Battle From The Start is perhaps the best biography of Nathan Bedford Forrest.

Dr. Wills latest effort is a biography of the "Rock of Chickamauga", George Henry Thomas. By using the correspondence of Thomas' contemporaries, Brian has given us a tour de force. The book deals with Thomas' personality and relationships with other union commanders. Brian does not ignore Thomas' actions on the battlefield. Chickamauga, Stones River, Missionary Ridge, Mill Springs, Nashville and the Atlanta Campaign are addressed by Dr. Wills.

Brian Wills earned a B.A. from the University of Richmond. Dr. Wills then attended the University of Georgia where he earned a M.A. and PHD.

Dr. Wills is now employed by Kennesaw State University where he is director of the Center For The Study of the Civil War.

The Harwell Award honors the late Richard B. Harwell, a nationally recognized historian, librarian, bibliographer and first president of the Atlanta Round Table.
The award consists of a monetary prize plus an engraved plaque recognizing the event. Previous winners include William C. Davis, Earl Hess, James McPherson and Russell Bonds.

Brian Wills will speak at the November 2013 meeting of the Atlanta Round Table.
At that time, he will be presented with the award.

The following were finalists for the 2012 Harwell Award:
Timothy S. Smith: Corinth 1862
Lance J. Herdegen: The Iron Brigade
James McPherson: War On The Waters

Point of Contact for additional information on the Richard B. Harwell Book Award is Gary Barnes,